Indigenous Youth and Mental Health

Slay Girl Society

The topic of mental health in Canada’s indigenous communities should be important to everyone in our country. As Canada moves forward in reconciliation for its past and current treatment of indigenous people, we need to figure out how to improve their  well-being in a way that respects their autonomy and helps them live meaningfully. I say “they” because I am not a member of an indigenous community. However, I want to be careful not to create an “us” and “them” dynamic. Our indigenous communities in Canada should be considered an integral part of the fabric of this country and should be involved in any of the discussion concerning this land. That’s why I think “we” need to work together to do this. On my part, I want to use my platform on the Slay Girl Society website to raise awareness of the issues. That’s why I was pleased when I found out that Healthy Minds…

View original post 789 more words

Leave a Reply

